Page 14 - SOH_6_21
P. 14

 Reagan Artists Excel Despite Covid
  STubmitted By Karen Fox
he covid wave did not slow down the art students at Reagan High School! Despite the 2020 pivot,
these artists did not miss a beat. In fact, Reagan had one of their most successful years. Please enjoy the great news, as we honor these fabulous student artists.
Two Reagan HS Students Win “Gold Seals” at State VASE – Visual Arts Scholastic Event
Congratulations to the seven NEISD amazing student artist who brought home the highest award to “
The judging took place April 24,2020. Of the over 2,000 student artworks advancing to the state level, North East ISD had 88 students qualify for State VASE representing all of our high school campuses. 71 NEISD student artists earned the highest rating of 4. These level 4 winners were judged again to earn a “Goal Seal.” 7 of the 10 Gold Seals awarded in our Region were from NEISD. This is a tremendous accomplishment! The most “Gold Seals” we have earned lately. These students did an outstanding job
Reagan High School, Anna Christensen, Gold Seal at State VASE Winning Student
meeting the challenges of the covid year and overcoming it. Congratulations to all the students and their tremendous work
Reagan High School, Catherine Zou, Gold Seal State VASE Winning Student
ethic and creativity!
The “Gold Seal” winning students were
from International School of the Americas (ISA), MacArthur High School, North East
Reagan High School, Alejandra Quiroga, $500 Scholarship Winner at VASE.
School of the Arts (NESA)
Reagan High School: Anna Christensen, Catherine Zou.
$500 Scholarship winner at VASE was won by Alejandra Quiroga.
Students earning Gold Medals at State: Anna Christensen, Catherine Zoe, Brent Freeman, Ava Lerow, Marla Mason, Olivia Neubauer, Katya Parade, Alejandra Quiroga, Geni Adame Lewis, Clinton Castellanos, Harold Christiansen, Esther Kim, Aubrinna Groenke, Rhyan Moore.
       NEISD Artists Medal At National Scholastics Art Awards
ASubmitted By Karen Fox
rtwork from North East ISD students will soon be on display in New York City. Five student
artists earned top Gold Key awards at the National Scholastic Art & Writing Awards competition. Rosie Ganske of Reagan High School earned an American Vision Medal in addition to her Gold Key. Since 1923, the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards program has been judging student work based on three original criteria: originality, technical skill, and the emergence of personal vision or voice. It’s been a long-running tradition of celebrating excellence in art and writing and our NEISD student artists continue to uphold this tradition.
The National Awards ceremony has been canceled this year, but the artwork will be on display in New York starting June 9 in additional to an outstanding virtual show. Congratulations to our Reagan High School Gold Key recipients!
Reagan High School, Esther Kim, National Gold Key Winner.
National Gold Key & American Vision Medal Winner
Rosie Ganske of Reagan High School National Gold Keys Winner
Esther Kim of Reagan High School
Pedro Diaz, Johnson High School
Other school winners; DATA/Roosevelt High School, North East School of the Arts
         NEISD High School Art Scholarship Portfolio Winner
CSubmitted By Karen Fox
ongratulations to Rosie Ganske for winning the NEISD yearly High School Memorial Art Scholarship
Portfolio. Rosie is a Senior art student at Reagan High School. Rosie’s portfolio was comprised of the artwork displayed in the special exhibit. Her portfolio was selected by three different jurors in the San Antonio art community. Way to go Rosie.
Reagan High School, Rosie Ganske, National Gold Key & American Vision Medal Winner.
Johnson High School, Pedro Diaz, National Gold Key Winner.
 Governor’s Capitol Art Exhibit
SAu b m i t t e d B y K a r e n F o x
rtworks from two North East ISD students will soon be on display Governor Greg Abbott’s business
office. Original art from Ashton Kordas of Reagan High School and Pedro Diaz from Johnson HS was selected by the Governor’s wife, Cecilia Abbott, to hang in Austin for the next year. The annual announcement was made virtually this year in lieu of the awards ceremony usually hosted at the Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum. It is presented by the Texas Art
Education Association (TAEA) and is held in conjunction with Youth Art Month.
Only 12 pieces from across the state were chosen for this honor. Reagan HS is proud to be represented by Ashton Kordas, Johnson HS is proud to be represented by Pedro Diaz. Way to go NEISD artist.
June 9th there will be a Governor’s Gallery Reception on the lawn of the Capitol honoring these talented students. The reception will be June 9th at 2:00 p.m.
Capitol Art - continued on page 15
June 2021

   12   13   14   15   16